《香港尽责管理守则》

Oasis对《香港尽责管理守则》所规定管理责任之声明

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称“证监会”)于2016年3月发布《负责任的拥有权原则》(下称《香港尽责管理守则》或《守则》)。[¹]  《香港尽责管理守则》是协助投资者决定如何以最佳方法履行其拥有权责任的一套原则及指引。  正如《守则》所指出的,股份的拥有权带来重要责任,尤其是就可影响业务经营方式的事宜发言及投票的权利。  《香港尽责管理守则》载明的管理原则说明,虽然公司取得成功的主要责任在于其董事会,但一家公司的投资者仍可敦促董事会履行职责,从而发挥投资者的重要作用。 对于机构投资者,其责任是建设性地参与被投资公司的事务,以便提高其客户及受益人的中长期回报,具体做法是在深刻了解公司及其经营环境的基础上,通过建设性地参与公司事务或展开有目的性的对话,提升并促进被投资公司的价值创造和可持续增长。  《香港尽责管理守则》体现了公司董事会以及机构投资者在确保企业治理高标准方面的作用——机构投资者的尽责管理活动包括妥善地监督被投资公司并建设性地参与其事务,以履行管理职责,从而促进公司的可持续增长。  《香港尽责管理守则》为恰当参与被投资公司事务的做法提供了框架,并对机构投资者以兼顾其客户及被投资公司的方式履行其管理职责的实用原则予以详细界定。

证监会注意到,密切留意被投资公司业绩、决策、公司行动且审查公司披露信息的投资者,可掌握更多资料并且能够更加有效地参与被投资公司的事务,且有效地参与公司事务有利于公司的经营发展。  此外,证监会认为,通过推动落实负责任的拥有权,《守则》将进一步强化香港的公司治理文化,这将有利于香港金融市场的整体健康。

我们深感认同。

Oasis Management Company Ltd.(简称“Oasis”)是一家成立于2002年的私人投资管理公司,自2004年起将集团总部设于香港。 Oasis认为公司的运营应以符合股东最佳利益为宗旨。  作为自2016年《香港尽责管理守则》发布之时就签署及采纳这一守则的公司,Oasis接受其管理职责,力求通过建设性地参与公司事务、进行有目的性的对话并凭借对公司及其经营环境的深入了解,创造和提高企业价值,实现和促进被投资公司的可持续增长,从而为其客户提高投资回报。

《香港尽责管理守则》中的原则鼓励采纳守则的公司对其如何履行其管理职责予以披露,据此我们设立了以下用于实施这些原则的方式方法。

原则 1: 投资者应制定并向其利益相关者汇报其有关履行拥有权责任的政策。

Oasis在官网上披露其如何履行《香港尽责管理守则》所规定的管理责任,并对信息进行必要更新,每年至少一次。 每年Oasis与来自世界各地的公司管理团队举行数百次会议。  我们和各大公司持续对话,Oasis的投资组合经理和分析师均参与其中。 保持对话是我们代表客户履行拥有权责任的核心方法。 我们管理活动的目标是支持我们相信能够尽可能为客户提高中长期投资回报的投资决定,具体做法是在深刻了解公司及其经营环境的基础上,通过建设性地参与公司事务或有目的性的对话,提升并促进被投资公司的价值创造和可持续增长。

原则 2:  机构投资者应监察并参与其被投资公司的事务

Oasis大力支持《香港尽责管理守则》中的原则。 参与被投资公司的事务是本公司投资流程及方法的重要组成部分之一。 此方法使我们能够深入了解一家公司的经营策略、发展前景、经营态度(包括对股本回报率的重视程度)以及增长、成本和风险状况,并评估这家公司是否遵循有助于其长期业务发展和可持续增长,并且符合其客户和投资者最佳利益的公司治理标准。

Oasis在评估可持续的长期增长时,会充分考虑各公司的经营策略、业务流程、资本结构、财务稳定性以及采用适当的高标准治理企业的情况。

这一过程的实施由Oasis投资团队负责。 Oasis首席投资官、香港交易员及分析师在香港的投资方面具有丰富的经验(首席投资官的投资经验超过20年)。  Oasis投资团队成员定期与香港企业的管理层接洽。  首席投资官负责监督研究过程。

香港专属投资团队的成员在位于香港的Oasis运营总部任职。  Oasis的全球布局,为我们了解众多被投资公司的文化、供应链、客户需求和关注问题、本土及最佳业务惯例以及竞争环境提供了更开阔的背景和视角。

Oasis认为,定期监测被投资公司是基本投资管理的重要职责之一。  全面持续的研究以及定期建设性地参与被投资公司的事务,是Oasis投资理念和投资方法的一大重要特征。  Oasis每年在香港及海外与公司管理层召开多达数百次会议,并积极参与分析师会议、路演及股东大会。  详细的财务分析包括对上市公司报告和账目、其他公司公告的定期监测与分析,同时还包括评估公开获得的信息,包括但不限于经纪商、独立第三方的研究,从独立来源取得的原创性资料和数据、外部数据供应商、从供应商、竞争对手及客户处获取的公开披露信息。  借助所有的这些研究和参与公司事务的活动,Oasis得以甄选出适当的投资机会。

原则 3: 投资者应斟酌并制定清晰的政策,明确何时会将其参与公司事务的活动上报。

Oasis努力研究并了解被投资公司,以确保这些公司正在落实的策略和程序均符合股东的最佳利益,并且确保可持续的长期增长。 一旦Oasis发现在公司管理流程、经营策略或最佳公司治理标准应用等方面存在任何问题或令人关切的事宜,Oasis将在其认为适当的情况下设法与被投资公司的管理层成员就此进行探讨。  就参与公司事务而言,Oasis制定内部政策和程序规定,如果出现任何上述问题,在必要的情况下进行上报,以提高治理力度并积极提高被投资公司的价值。   每次行动都根据其自身的优劣,考虑当时及相关的情况后个别作出。  我们尚未就何时及如何上报制定规范性指引。  虽然Oasis尽量与被投资公司达成共识,但是Oasis相信建设性地参与公司事务,包括在每项投资的特定情况下适当升级参与活动的程度,对于双方而言都是一种有价值的做法,哪怕采取这种行动后双方仍然会在某些方面存在意见分歧。

原则 4: 投资者应就投票指引制定清晰的政策。

Oasis通过实施明确的投票政策,履行《香港尽责管理守则》规定的职责。 每次投票都会在考虑公司所有当时及相关的情况后个别作出。 Oasis拥有清晰的委托代理投票政策,倘若要升级投票行动,该制度能够为我们的决策流程提供透明度。

Oasis可应要求向其客户及投资者提供委托代理投票政策。  Oasis还会根据各份主要的计划书以总计方式披露香港地区投资的投票结果。  然而,Oasis一般不会单独披露某一家被投资公司的投票结果,原因在于Oasis认为,对客户和投资者而言,此类披露的潜在风险(包括与客户保密义务的冲突及投资策略保密的重要性)可能大于潜在利益。  如果与客户的保密义务或落实投资策略方面不存在冲突,则可以向Oasis的客户及投资者或在相关情况下被视为恰当的其他人披露履行投票权的方式。

Oasis的委托代理投票政策由公司的法律总顾问、首席合规官和高级管理层定期进行管理审查。 Oasis合规及操作团队负责委托代理投票程序和记录工作。  酌情就非常规事件的投票决议咨询Oasis投资团队。

Oasis将在符合客户最佳利益的情况下,运用公司治理的现行最佳做法、守则和最高标准,采取一切合理步骤投票选举代理人。 当投票选举代理人时,Oasis对公司管理层推荐的人选予以充分考虑,然而如果Oasis认为选举该推荐人选并不符合公司股东的最佳利益,将不会赞成其推荐的人选。  对代理顾问的使用并非是机械地依赖顾问的推荐,而是在履行职责和运用自身判断能力的原则下,根据对被投资公司的监测和对话结果,行使Oasis的投票权。

原则 5投资者应愿意在适当时候与其他投资者集体行动

Oasis与其他投资公司、更广泛的行业协会建立关系,以共享公司治理和当地市场因素方面的见解。  虽然Oasis独立地参与被投资公司的事务,但是本公司认为,与其他投资者进行讨论有助于更好地参与被投资公司的事务,且不排除在可能提高Oasis履行管理职责质量的情况下参与集体研讨、分享见解和对话的可能性。  Oasis原则上不反对投资者的集体行动,但Oasis通常会单独参与被投资公司的事务。

原则 6: 投资者应向利益相关者汇报其履行拥有权责任的情况。

Oasis在官网上披露其如何履行《香港尽责管理守则》所规定的管理责任,并对信息进行必要更新,每年至少一次。

Oasis可应要求向其客户及投资者提供委托代理投票政策。  如果与客户的保密义务或落实投资策略方面不存在冲突,则可以向Oasis的客户及投资者或在相关情况下被视为恰当的其他人披露履行投票权的方式。

原则 7: 在代表客户进行投资时,投资者应当拥有管理利益冲突的政策。

Oasis明白在履行管理职责时可能会发生利益冲突。 作为受托人,我们力求将客户的利益放在首位,避免利益冲突,包括由投票或参与公司事务而引起的利益冲突。  Oasis制定了一套健全的合规政策,用于识别、管理和监测一切利益冲突,并确保所作的决定完全符合其客户的利益。 Oasis遵守美国证券及交易委员会(美国证交会)的规定(包括其他),始终坚持业内最佳做法,以避免利益冲突,并在其实施管理、投资、合规政策及程序的过程中将其谨记于心。  Oasis在美国联属公司向美国证交会提交的ADV表格以及向Oasis客户和投资者提供的机密发售文件中披露一切利益冲突信息。  这些政策由公司法律总顾问、首席合规官和高级主管定期进行管理审查。 此类政策特别要求,一旦员工知悉在适当操作及决议中存在任何重大利益冲突,必须上报Oasis合规部门。

***

《Oasis香港尽责管理守则》合规事宜的负责人姓名及联系方式:

Phillip M. Meyer
法律总顾问兼首席运营官
电话:+852 2847 7708
电邮:pmeyer@hk.oasiscm.com

***

Oasis监管注册及牌照信息概况

Oasis Management Company Ltd. (“Oasis”) has been registered as a Commodity Pool Operator with the US Commodities Futures Trading Commission and a member of the US National Futures Association (NFA ID: 0323361) since September 30, 2002. Oasis is registered as an “Excluded Person” under the Securities Investment Business Law (2011 Revision) of the Cayman Islands.

Oasis Management (Hong Kong) (“Oasis Hong Kong”) has been licensed in good standing since 2004 with the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission to carry out Types 4 (advising on securities), 5 (advising on futures contracts) and 9 (asset management) activities (CE# AJJ190) under the provisions of the Hong Kong SFO (Cap.571).

Oasis Capital Partners (Texas) Inc. is registered with the US Securities & Exchange Commission (“SEC”) as an investment advisor under the US Advisers Act (IARD/CRD # 171703). Oasis, Oasis Hong Kong, and Oasis Capital Advisors LLC are registered as relying advisors with the SEC.

Last Updated October 2019

***[¹] http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/rules-and-standards/principles-of-responsible-ownership.html & http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/files/ER/PDF/Principles%20of%20Responsible%20Ownership_Eng.pdf

Hong Kong Stewardship Code

Oasis Statement on its stewardship responsibilities under the Hong Kong Stewardship Code

The Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) published its “Principles of Responsible Ownership” (the “Hong Kong Stewardship Code” or the “Code”) in March 2016.[¹]  The Hong Kong Stewardship Code is a set of principles and guidance to assist investors to determine how best to meet their ownership responsibilities.  As the Code notes, ownership of shares brings with it important responsibilities, particularly the right to speak and vote on matters that can influence the way in which a business is conducted.  The stewardship principles set out in the Hong Kong Stewardship Code reflect that although the primary responsibility for a company’s success rests with the company’s board, investors in a company also play a significant role by holding the board to account for the fulfillment of its responsibilities. The responsibility of institutional investors to engage constructively with invested companies with the aim of enhancing the medium- to long-term investment return for their clients and beneficiaries by improving and fostering the investee companies’ corporate value and sustainable growth through constructive engagement, or purposeful dialogue, based on in-depth knowledge of the companies and their business environment.  The Hong Kong Stewardship Code reflects the roles of a company’s Board of Directors and of its institutional investors in ensuring high standards of corporate governance — stewardship activities of the institutional investor include proper monitoring of the investee companies and constructive engagement with them done to discharge the stewardship responsibilities to foster sustainable growth of the companies.  The Hong Kong Stewardship Code provides a framework for good practices in engaging with investee companies, and defines principles considered helpful to institutional investors in fulfilling their stewardship responsibilities with due regard to both their clients and to investee companies.

The SFC has observed that investors who closely follow their investee companies’ performance, decisions and corporate actions and review their disclosures are generally better informed and more able to engage effectively with investee companies, and that effective engagement generally leads to better-run companies.  Furthermore, by promoting responsible ownership, the SFC believes the Code will further strengthen the corporate governance culture in Hong Kong which will benefit the overall health of the Hong Kong financial market.

We emphatically agree.

Oasis Management Company Ltd. (“Oasis”) is a private investment management firm established in 2002 with its group headquarters in Hong Kong since 2004. Oasis believes that companies should manage their operations in the best interests of shareholders.  As a signatory and adoptee of the Hong Kong Stewardship Code from its announcement in 2016, Oasis accepts its stewardship responsibilities seeking to enhance investment return for its clients by fostering and improving corporate value and the sustainable growth of investee companies, through constructive engagement, purposeful dialogue and in-depth knowledge of the companies and their business environments.

In accordance with the Hong Kong Stewardship Code’s principles encouraging disclosure of how adoptees fulfill its stewardship responsibilities, we set forth below the manner in which we implement the principles contained therein.

Principle 1: Investors should establish and report to their stakeholders their policies for discharging their ownership responsibilities.

Oasis’s disclosure on how it proposes to fulfill its stewardship responsibilities under the Hong Kong Stewardship Code is made available on its website, and updated as necessary, but no less than annually. Oasis participates in hundreds of meetings each year with company management teams from around the world.  Oasis portfolio managers and analysts al take part in our ongoing dialogue with companies. Maintaining an ongoing dialogue is central to how we discharge our ownership responsibilities on behalf of our clients. The goal of our stewardship activities is to support decisions that we believe will best enhance the medium- to long-term investment return for their clients and beneficiaries by improving and fostering the investee companies’ corporate value and sustainable growth through constructive engagement, or purposeful dialogue, based on in-depth knowledge of the companies and their business environment.

Principle 2:  Institutional investors should monitor and engage with their investee companies.

Oasis strongly supports the principles of the Hong Kong Stewardship Code. Engagement with companies in which it invests forms an important component of the firm’s investment process and approach. This approach allows us to develop our understanding of a company’s business strategy, prospects, attitude (including its focus on Return on Equity (“ROE”)) as well as growth, costs, and risk, and to assess whether the company adheres to standards of corporate governance that will support the company’s long-term business and sustainable growth, while fulfilling the best interests of its clients and investors.

Oasis considers companies’ business strategy and process in assessing sustainable long-term growth, taking into account capital structure, financial stability, and the application of appropriately high standards of corporate governance.

The execution of this process is the responsibility of the Oasis investment team. The Oasis Chief Investment Officer and Hong Kong traders and analysts have extensive experience investing in Hong Kong (in the case of the Chief Investment Officer, over 20 years’ experience).  Oasis investment team members engage regularly with Hong Kong corporate management.  The research process is supervised by the Chief Investment Officer.

Members of the investment team specializing in Hong Kong are located in Oasis’s operational headquarters in Hong Kong.  Oasis’s global presence adds further context and perspective in understanding the culture, supply chains, customer requirements and considerations, local and best practices, and competitive environments for many of the companies in which we invest.

Oasis considers regular monitoring of investee companies to be a key responsibility of fundamental investment management.  Comprehensive and continuous research and regular constructive engagement with investee companies is an important characteristic of Oasis’s investment philosophy and approach.  Oasis conducts hundreds of meetings each year with company management both in Hong Kong and overseas, as well as attending analysts’ meetings, roadshows, and shareholder meetings.  Detailed financial analysis incorporates regular monitoring and analysis of published company reports and accounts as well as other company announcements, together with assessment of publicly available information including but not limited to broker and independent, 3rd party research, independently-sourced original information and data, external data suppliers, and publicly disclosed information from suppliers, competitors and customers.  All of this research and engagement helps Oasis select appropriate investment opportunities.

Principle 3: Investors should consider and establish clear policies on when they will escalate their engagement activities.

Oasis seeks to research and learn from investee companies to ensure that they are pursuing strategies and processes that reflect the best interests of shareholders, while ensuring sustainable long-term growth. In the event that Oasis identifies issues or concerns regarding company management process, strategy, or the application of best standards of corporate governance, Oasis will seek to discuss its concerns with members of the investee company’s management, as it considers appropriate under the circumstances.  For such engagements, Oasis has internal policies and procedures for the escalation, if necessary, of any such issues in order to improve governance and resulting in positive improvements to investee company value.   Each action is considered individually on its own merits, taking into account the prevailing and relevant circumstances.  We have not developed prescriptive guidelines for when and how we will escalate our activities.  However, although Oasis endeavors to reach a common understanding with its investee companies, Oasis believes that constructive engagement, including escalation of engagement activities as appropriate under each investment’s specific circumstances, is valuable for both parties even if differences of opinion on specific points remain after such engagement.

Principle 4: Investors should have clear policies on voting guidance.

Oasis seeks to discharge its responsibilities under the Hong Kong Stewardship Code by means of the implementation of a clearly defined voting policy. Each vote is considered individually, taking into account all prevailing and relevant circumstances for the company. Oasis has a clear proxy voting policy, which provides transparency on our decision-making process in the event of any escalation of voting activities.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy can be made available to its clients and investors upon request.  Oasis also discloses Hong Kong investment voting results on an aggregated basis per each major kind of proposal.  However, Oasis does not generally disclose voting results on an individual investee company basis because Oasis believes that the potential risks of such disclosure, including conflict with client confidentiality and the importance of confidentiality of its investment strategies, would outweigh the potential benefits to clients and investors.  Where it does not conflict with client confidentiality or the pursuit of investment strategies, the manner in which voting rights have been executed may be disclosed to Oasis clients and investors or others deemed appropriate under the circumstances.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy is subject to regular management review by the firm’s General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer, and senior management. Proxy voting procedures and record-keeping are the responsibility of the Oasis compliance and operations teams.  Voting decisions for non-routine matters are referred to the Oasis investment teams as appropriate.

Oasis endeavors to take all reasonable steps to vote proxies in the best interests of clients, applying prevailing best practices and codes and standards of corporate governance. When voting proxies, Oasis gives due consideration to the recommendation of a company’s management, but will only support this if Oasis believes that to do so would be in the best interests of the company’s shareholders.  The use of proxy advisors will not simply mechanically depend on the advisors’ recommendations but will exercise Oasis’s voting rights at our own responsibility and judgment and based on the results of the monitoring of the investee companies and dialogue with them.

Principle 5: Investors should be willing to act collectively with other investors where appropriate.

Oasis cultivates relationships with other investment firms and broader industry organizations to share insights on corporate governance trends and local market considerations.  Although Oasis undertakes its engagement with investee companies on an independent basis, the firm recognizes that discussions with other investors may foster better engagement with investee companies, and does not exclude the possibility of engaging in brainstorming, idea sharing, and dialogue in the event that this is likely to enhance the quality of Oasis’s stewardship responsibilities.  Oasis does not object in principle to collective action by investors, but normally seeks to engage individually with the companies in which it invests.

Principle 6: Investors should report to their stakeholders on how they have discharged their ownership responsibilities.

Oasis’s disclosure on how it fulfills its stewardship responsibilities under the Hong Kong Stewardship Code is made available on its website, and updated as necessary, but no less than annually.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy is available for its clients and investors upon request.  Where it does not conflict with client confidentiality or the pursuit of investment strategies, the manner in which voting rights have been executed may be disclosed to Oasis clients and investors or others deemed appropriate under the circumstances.

Principle 7: When investing on behalf of clients, investors should have policies on managing conflicts of interest.

Oasis understands that conflicts of interest may occur in the pursuit of stewardship responsibilities. As a fiduciary, we seek to place the interests of our clients first and to avoid conflicts of interest, including those that arise from voting or engagement issues.  Oasis maintains a robust set of compliance policies to identify, manage and monitor any such conflicts of interest, and to ensure that decisions are taken wholly in the interests of its clients. In compliance with US Securities & Exchange Commission (“SEC”) rules (among others), Oasis strives always to adhere to industry best practice to avoid conflicts of interest and to take these into consideration in the implementation of its management, investment, and compliance policies and procedures.  Any conflicts of interest are disclosed in Oasis’s US affiliate’s Form ADV filed with the SEC as well as in the confidential offering documentation made available to Oasis clients and investors.  These policies are subject to regular management review, including by the firm’s General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer and senior management. The policies require, inter alia, that employees report to Oasis compliance in the event that they ever become aware of any material conflict of interest for appropriate handling and resolution.

***

Name and contact of person in charge of compliance with Oasis’s Hong Kong Stewardship Code obligations:

Phillip M. Meyer
General Counsel & Chief Operating Officer
T: +852 2847 7708
Email: pmeyer@hk.oasiscm.com

***

Oasis Regulatory Registration & Licensing Overview

Oasis Management Company Ltd. (“Oasis”) has been registered as a Commodity Pool Operator with the US Commodities Futures Trading Commission and a member of the US National Futures Association (NFA ID: 0323361) since September 30, 2002.  Oasis is registered as an “Excluded Person” under the Securities Investment Business Law (2011 Revision) of the Cayman Islands.

Oasis Management (Hong Kong) LLC has been licensed in good standing since 2004 with the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission to carry out Types 4 (advising on securities), 5 (advising on futures contracts) and 9 (asset management) activities (CE# AJJ190) under the provisions of the Hong Kong SFO (Cap.571), and also holds a GBL1 license (License No. C109007199) from the Mauritius Financial Services Commission.

Oasis Capital Partners (Texas) Inc. is registered with the US Securities & Exchange Commission (“SEC”) as an investment advisor under the US Advisers Act (IARD/CRD # 171703).  Affiliate Oasis Capital Advisors LLC is registered as a relying advisor with the SEC.  Oasis and Oasis Hong Kong rely on the exemption from US SEC registration provided by Rule 203(m)‐1 under the US Advisers Act (the “private fund adviser exemption”), and have filed the necessary Form ADV with the US SEC to notify and record their reliance on the available exemptions – Oasis and Oasis Hong Kong are each deemed to be an “Exempt Reporting Advisor” (“ERA”) with the SEC.

Last Updated September 2017

***[¹] http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/rules-and-standards/principles-of-responsible-ownership.html & http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/files/ER/PDF/Principles%20of%20Responsible%20Ownership_Eng.pdf