《韩国尽责管理守则》

Oasis对《 韩国尽责管理守则 》所规定管理责任之声明

韩国公司治理服务协会(Korea Corporate Governance Service)领导下的管理委员会于2016年12月发布《机构投资者管理责任原则》(Principles on the Stewardship Responsibilities of Institutional Investors)(下称《韩国尽责管理守则》或《守则》)。 《韩国尽责管理守则》的宗旨是通过投资和对话促进公司的可持续增长。 《韩国尽责管理守则》载明的管理原则说明,机构投资者的责任是建设性地参与被投资公司的事务,以便提高其客户及受益人的中长期回报,具体做法是在深刻了解公司及其经营环境的基础上,通过建设性地参与公司事务或有目的性的对话,提升并促进被投资公司的价值创造和可持续增长。  《韩国尽责管理守则》体现了公司董事会以及机构投资者在确保企业治理高标准方面的作用——机构投资者的尽责管理活动包括妥善地监督被投资公司并建设性地参与其事务,以履行管理职责,从而促进公司的可持续增长。  《韩国尽责管理守则》为恰当参与被投资公司事务的做法提供了框架,并对机构投资者以兼顾其客户及被投资公司的方式履行其管理职责的实用原则予以详细界定。

Oasis Management Company Ltd.(简称“Oasis”)是一家成立于2002年的私人投资管理公司,自2004年起将集团总部设于香港。 Oasis认为公司的运营应以符合股东最佳利益为宗旨。  作为签署《韩国尽责管理守则》的公司,Oasis接受其管理职责,力求通过建设性地参与公司事务、进行有目的性的对话并凭借对公司及其经营环境的深入了解,创造和提高企业价值,实现和促进被投资公司的可持续增长,从而为其客户提高投资回报。

《韩国尽责管理守则》要求机构投资者须披露其如何履行其管理职责的计划,据此我们设定了以下用于实施这些原则的方式方法。

原则1机构投资者对客户、受益人及其他各方的资产进行行政管理和管理的机构投资者,作为受托人,应就如何勤勉地履行管理责任制定和公开披露清晰的政策。

Oasis大力支持《韩国尽责管理守则》中的原则。 参与被投资公司的事务是本公司投资流程及方法的重要组成部分之一。 此方法使我们能够深入了解一家公司的经营策略、发展前景、经营态度(包括对股本回报率的重视程度)以及增长、成本和风险状况,并评估这家公司是否遵循有助于其长期业务发展和可持续增长,并且符合其客户和投资者最佳利益的公司治理标准。

原则2:  机构投资者应制定并公开披露健全而清晰的政策,用于解决在其履行管理责任过程中遇到或可能遇到的利益冲突。

Oasis明白在履行管理职责时会发生利益冲突。 Oasis制定了一套健全的合规政策,用于识别、管理和监测一切利益冲突,并确保所作的决定完全符合其客户的利益。Oasis遵守美国证券及交易委员会(“证交会”)的规定,始终坚持业内最佳做法,以避免利益冲突,并在其实施管理、投资、合规政策及程序的过程中将其谨记于心。  Oasis在美国联属公司向美国证交会提交的ADV表格以及向Oasis客户和投资者提供的机密发售文件中披露一切利益冲突信息。  这些政策由公司首席合规官、法律总顾问和高级管理层定期进行管理审查。 此类政策特别要求,一旦员工知悉在适当操作及决议中存在任何重大利益冲突,必须上报Oasis合规部门。

原则3: 机构投资者应定期监督被投资公司,以提高被投资公司的中长期价值,从而保障及提高投资价值。

此外,Oasis认为,定期监测被投资公司是基本投资管理的重要职责之一。  全面持续的研究以及定期建设性地参与被投资公司的事务,是Oasis投资理念和投资方法的一大重要特征。  Oasis每年在韩国及海外与公司管理层召开多达数百次会议,并积极参与分析师会议、路演及股东大会。  详细的财务分析包括对上市公司报告和账目、其他公司公告的定期监测与分析,同时还包括评估公开获得的信息,包括但不限于经纪商、独立第三方的研究,从独立来源取得的原创性资料和数据、外部数据供应商、从供应商、竞争对手及客户处获取的公开披露信息。  借助所有这些研究和参与公司事务的活动,Oasis得以甄选适当的投资机会。

原则4: 机构投资者应努力与被投资公司建立互信关系,必要时就参与被投资公司的事务制定有关时间表、工作程序和方式方法的内部指引。

在整个投资过程中,Oasis力求建设性地参与被投资公司的事务,以确保这些公司正在落实的策略和程序均符合股东的最佳利益,并且确保可持续的长期增长。  一旦Oasis发现在公司管理程序、经营策略或最佳公司治理标准应用情况方面存在任何问题或令人关切的事宜,Oasis将在其认为适当的情况下设法与被投资公司的管理层成员就此进行探讨。  参与公司事务之前,Oasis将提前拟定清晰的政策与策略,研究如何就多种可能出现的情况与被投资公司展开对话。  Oasis原则上不反对投资者的集体行动,但Oasis通常会单独参与被投资公司的事务。  每次行动都根据其自身的优劣,考虑当时及相关的情况后个别作出。  虽然Oasis尽量与被投资公司达成共识,但是Oasis相信建设性地参与公司事务对于双方都是有价值的做法,哪怕参与公司事务后双方仍然会在某些方面存在意见分歧。

原则5: 机构投资者应以勤勉的态度制定并公开披露投票政策,内容包括行使投票权的指引、程序以及详细标准,并公开披露投票记录和每次投票的原因,以便公众能够审阅其投票活动的妥当性。

Oasis通过实施明确的投票政策,履行《韩国尽责管理守则》规定的职责。 每次投票都会在考虑公司所有当时及相关的情况后个别作出。 Oasis拥有清晰的委托代理投票政策,倘若要升级投票行动,该制度能够为我们的决策流程提供透明度。

Oasis可应要求向其客户及投资者提供委托代理投票政策。 Oasis还会根据各份主要的计划书以总计方式披露韩国地区投资的投票结果。 然而,Oasis一般不会单独披露某一家被投资公司的投票结果,原因在于Oasis认为,对客户和投资者而言,此类披露的潜在风险(包括与客户保密义务的冲突及投资策略保密的重要性)可能大于潜在利益。  如果与客户的保密义务或落实投资策略方面不存在冲突,则可以向Oasis的客户及投资者或在相关情况下被视为恰当的其他人披露履行投票权的方式。

Oasis的委托代理投票政策由首席合规官、法律总顾问和高级管理层定期进行管理审查。 Oasis合规及操作团队负责委托代理投票程序和记录工作。  酌情就非常规事件的投票决议咨询Oasis投资团队。

Oasis将在符合客户最佳利益的情况下,运用公司治理的现行最佳做法、守则和最高标准,采取一切合理步骤投票选举代理人。 当投票选举代理人时,Oasis对公司管理层推荐的人选予以充分考虑,然而如果Oasis认为选举该推荐人选并不符合公司股东的最佳利益,将不会赞成其推荐的人选。  对代理顾问的使用并非是机械地依赖顾问的推荐,而是在履行职责和运用自身判断能力的原则下,根据对被投资公司的监测和对话结果,行使Oasis的投票权。

原则6: 机构投资者应定期向其客户及受益人汇报其投票和管理活动的情况。

Oasis在官网上披露其如何履行《韩国尽责管理守则》所规定的管理责任,并对信息进行必要更新,每年至少一次。

Oasis可应要求向其客户及投资者提供委托代理投票政策。 如果与客户的保密义务或落实投资策略方面不存在冲突,则可以向Oasis的客户及投资者或在相关情况下被视为恰当的其他人披露履行投票权的方式。

原则7: 机构投资者应具备积极有效履行其管理责任的必要能力和专业知识。

Oasis在评估可持续的长期增长时,会充分考虑各公司的经营策略、业务流程、资本结构、财务稳定性以及采用适当的高标准治理企业的情况。

这一过程的实施由Oasis投资团队负责。 Oasis首席投资官、韩国交易员及分析师在韩国投资方面具备丰富经验(首席投资官的投资经验超过20年)。  Oasis投资团队成员定期与韩国企业的管理层接洽,详见上文原则3。  首席投资官负责监督研究过程。

韩国专属投资团队的成员在位于香港的Oasis运营总部以及Oasis的美国办事处任职。  Oasis的全球布局,为我们了解众多被投资公司的文化、供应链、客户需求和关注问题、本土及最佳业务惯例以及竞争环境提供了更开阔的背景和视角。

虽然Oasis独立地参与被投资公司的事务,但是本公司认为,与其他投资者进行讨论有助于更好地参与被投资公司的事务,且不排除在可能提高Oasis履行管理职责质量的情况下参与集体研讨、分享见解和对话的可能性。

***

《Oasis韩国尽责管理守则》合规事宜的负责人姓名及联系方式:

Phillip M. Meyer
法律总顾问兼首席运营官
电话:+852 2847 7708
电邮:pmeyer@hk.oasiscm.com

***

Oasis监管注册及牌照信息概况

自2002年9月30日以来,Oasis Management Company Ltd.(简称“Oasis”)在美国商品期货委员(US Commodities Futures Trading Commission)注册成为商品基金经理(Commodity Pool Operator),并注册成为美国全国期货协会(US National Futures Association)会员 (NFA会员号:0323361)。  Oasis是根据开曼群岛《证券投资商业法》(Securities Investment Business Law)(2011年修订版)注册的“豁免人士”。

Oasis Management (Hong Kong) LLC根据香港《证券及期货条例》(第571章)自2004年起获香港证券及期货事务监察委员会发牌并良好存续,可进行第4类(就证券提供意见)、第5类(就期货合约提供意见)及第9类(提供资产管理)活动(CE# AJJ190),并且持有毛里求斯金融服务委员会(Mauritius Financial Services Commission)发放的全球业务牌照(GBL1)(牌照编号:C109007199)。

Oasis Capital Partners (Texas) Inc.是根据《美国投资顾问法》(US Advisers Act)在美国证券及交易委员会(“证交会”)注册的投资顾问公司(IARD/CRD编号171703)。  联属公司Oasis Capital Advisors LLC是在美国证交会注册的附属顾问公司。  Oasis和Oasis Hong Kong根据《美国投资顾问法》第203(m)‐1条(“私募基金顾问公司豁免条例”)有关豁免在美国证交会注册的规定,已向美国证交会提交必要的ADV表格,通知和记录其所依赖的可用豁免事项——Oasis和Oasis Hong Kong均被美国证交会视为“免汇报顾问公司”(“ERA”)。

9月份最后更新 2017

Korea Stewardship Code

Oasis Statement on its stewardship responsibilities under the Korea Stewardship Code

The stewardship committee which was led by the Korea Corporate Governance Service published the “Principles on the Stewardship Responsibilities of Institutional Investors” (the “Korea Stewardship Code” or the “Code”) in December 2016. The Korea Stewardship Code seeks to promote sustainable growth of companies through investment and dialogue. The stewardship principles set out in the Korea Stewardship Code reflect the responsibility of institutional investors to engage constructively with invested companies with the aim of enhancing the medium- to long-term investment return for their clients and beneficiaries by improving and fostering the investee companies’ corporate value and sustainable growth through constructive engagement, or purposeful dialogue, based on in-depth knowledge of the companies and their business environment.  The Korea Stewardship Code reflects the roles of a company’s Board of Directors and of its institutional investors in ensuring high standards of corporate governance — stewardship activities of the institutional investor include proper monitoring of the investee companies and constructive engagement with them done to discharge the stewardship responsibilities to foster sustainable growth of the companies.  The Korea Stewardship Code provides a framework for good practices in engaging with investee companies, and defines principles considered helpful to institutional investors in fulfilling their stewardship responsibilities with due regard to both their clients and to investee companies.

Oasis Management Company Ltd. (“Oasis”) is a private investment management firm established in 2002 with its group headquarters in Hong Kong since 2004. Oasis believes that companies should manage their operations in the best interests of shareholders.  As a signatory to the Korea Stewardship Code, Oasis accepts its stewardship responsibilities seeking to enhance investment return for its clients by fostering and improving corporate value and the sustainable growth of investee companies, through constructive engagement, purposeful dialogue and in-depth knowledge of the companies and their business environments.

In accordance with the Korea Stewardship Code’s requirements to disclose how it proposes to fulfill its stewardship responsibilities, we set forth below the manner in which we implement the principles contained therein.

Principle 1: Institutional investors as trustee who administer and manage the assets of their clients, beneficiaries and other parties should prepare and publicly disclose a clear policy on how they will diligently discharge their stewardship responsibilities.

Oasis strongly supports the principles of the Korea Stewardship Code. Engagement with companies in which it invests forms an important component of the firm’s investment process and approach. This approach allows us to develop our understanding of a company’s business strategy, prospects, attitude (including its focus on Return on Equity (“ROE”) as well as growth, costs, and risk, and to assess whether the company adheres to standards of corporate governance that will support the company’s long-term business and sustainable growth, while fulfilling the best interests of its clients and investors.

Principle 2:  Institutional investors should prepare and publicly disclose a robust and clear policy on addressing conflicts of interest that are faced or are likely to be faced in the course of discharging their stewardship responsibilities.

Oasis understands that conflicts of interest may occur in the pursuit of stewardship responsibilities. Oasis maintains a robust set of compliance policies to identify, manage and monitor any such conflicts of interest, and to ensure that decisions are taken wholly in the interests of its clients. In compliance with US Securities & Exchange Commission (“SEC”) rules, Oasis strives always to adhere to industry best practice to avoid conflicts of interest and to take these into consideration in the implementation of its management, investment, and compliance policies and procedures.  Any conflicts of interest are disclosed in Oasis’s US affiliate’s Form ADV filed with the SEC as well as in the confidential offering documentation made available to Oasis clients and investors.  These policies are subject to regular management review, including by the firm’s Chief Compliance Officer, General Counsel, and senior management. The policies require, inter alia, that employees report to Oasis compliance in the event that they ever become aware of any material conflict of interest for appropriate handling and resolution.

Principle 3: Institutional investors should regularly monitor investee companies to enhance investee companies’ medium- to long-term value and thus protect and raise the investment value.

Oasis also considers regular monitoring of investee companies to be a key responsibility of fundamental investment management.  Comprehensive and continuous research and regular constructive engagement with investee companies is an important characteristic of Oasis’s investment philosophy and approach.  Oasis conducts hundreds of meetings each year with company management both in Korea and overseas, as well as attending analysts’ meetings, roadshows, and shareholder meetings.  Detailed financial analysis incorporates regular monitoring and analysis of published company reports and accounts as well as other company announcements, together with assessment of publicly available information including but not limited to broker and independent, 3rd party research, independently-sourced original information and data, external data suppliers, and publicly disclosed information from suppliers, competitors and customers.  All of this research and engagement help Oasis select appropriate investment opportunities.

Principle 4: Institutional investors should seek to create a rapport with investee companies, and if necessary, should prepare internal guidelines on the timeline, procedures, and methods for engagement with investee companies.

Throughout the investment process, Oasis seeks to engage constructively with investee companies to ensure that they are pursuing strategies and processes that reflect the best interests of shareholders, while ensuring sustainable long-term growth.  In the event that Oasis identifies issues or concerns regarding company management process, strategy, or the application of best standards of corporate governance, Oasis will seek to discuss its concerns with members of the investee company’s management, as it considers appropriate under the circumstances.  Prior to any such engagement, Oasis will seek to formulate a clear policy and strategy in advance on how to design dialogue with investee companies in various possible situations.  Oasis does not object in principle to collective action by investors, but normally seeks to engage individually with the companies in which it invests.  Each action is considered individually on its own merits, taking into account the prevailing and relevant circumstances.  While Oasis endeavors to reach a common understanding with its investee companies, Oasis believes that constructive engagement is valuable for both parties even if differences of opinion on specific points remain after such engagement.

Principle 5: Institutional investors should prepare and publicly disclose a voting policy that includes guidelines, procedures, and detailed standards for exercising votes in a diligent manner, and publicly disclose voting records and the reasons for each vote so as to enable reviewing the appropriateness of their voting activities.

Oasis seeks to discharge its responsibilities under the Korea Stewardship Code by means of the implementation of a clearly defined voting policy. Each vote is considered individually, taking into account all prevailing and relevant circumstances for the company. Oasis has a clear proxy voting policy, which provides transparency on our decision-making process in the event of any escalation of voting activities.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy can be made available to its clients and investors upon request. Oasis also discloses Korean investment voting results on an aggregated basis per each major kind of proposal. However, Oasis does not generally disclose voting results on an individual investee company basis because Oasis believes that the potential risks of such disclosure, including conflict with client confidentiality and the importance of confidentiality of its investment strategies, would outweigh the potential benefits to clients and investors.  Where it does not conflict with client confidentiality or the pursuit of investment strategies, the manner in which voting rights have been executed may be disclosed to Oasis clients and investors or others deemed appropriate under the circumstances.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy is subject to regular management review by the firm’s Chief Compliance Officer, General Counsel, and senior management. Proxy voting procedures and record-keeping are the responsibility of the Oasis compliance and operations teams.  Voting decisions for non-routine matters are referred to the Oasis investment teams as appropriate.

Oasis endeavors to take all reasonable steps to vote proxies in the best interests of clients, applying prevailing best practices and codes and standards of corporate governance. When voting proxies, Oasis gives due consideration to the recommendation of a company’s management, but will only support this if Oasis believes that to do so would be in the best interests of the company’s shareholders.  The use of proxy advisors will not simply mechanically depend on the advisors’ recommendations but will exercise Oasis’s voting rights at our own responsibility and judgment and based on the results of the monitoring of the investee companies and dialogue with them.

Principle 6: Institutional investors should report periodically to their clients or beneficiaries on their voting and stewardship activities.

Oasis’s disclosure on how it proposes to fulfill its stewardship responsibilities under the Korea Stewardship Code is made available on its website, and updated as necessary, but no less than annually.

Oasis’s proxy voting policy is available for its clients and investors upon request. Where it does not conflict with client confidentiality or the pursuit of investment strategies, the manner in which voting rights have been executed may be disclosed to Oasis clients and investors or others deemed appropriate under the circumstances.

Principle 7: Institutional investors should possess the capabilities and expertise necessary for discharging stewardship responsibilities in a proactive and effective manner.

Oasis considers companies’ business strategy and process in assessing sustainable long-term growth, taking into account capital structure, financial stability, and the application of appropriately high standards of corporate governance.

The execution of this process is the responsibility of the Oasis investment team. The Oasis Chief Investment Officer and Korean traders and analysts have extensive experience investing in Korea (in the case of the Chief Investment Officer, over 20 years’ experience).  Oasis investment team members engage regularly with Korean corporate management, as described in Principle 3 above.  The research process is supervised by the Chief Investment Officer.

Members of the investment team specializing in Korea are located in Oasis’s operational headquarters in Hong Kong, as well as in Oasis’s US office.  Oasis’s global presence adds further context and perspective in understanding the culture, supply chains, customer requirements and considerations, local and best practices, and competitive environments for many of the companies in which we invest.

Although Oasis undertakes its engagement with investee companies on an independent basis, the firm recognizes that discussions with other investors may foster better engagement with investee companies, and does not exclude the possibility of engaging in brainstorming, idea sharing, and dialogue in the event that this is likely to enhance the quality of Oasis’s stewardship responsibilities.

***

Name and contact of person in charge of compliance with Oasis’s Korea Stewardship Code obligations:

Phillip M. Meyer
General Counsel & Chief Operating Officer
T: +852 2847 7708
Email: pmeyer@hk.oasiscm.com

***

Oasis Regulatory Registration & Licensing Overview

Oasis Management Company Ltd. (“Oasis”) has been registered as a Commodity Pool Operator with the US Commodities Futures Trading Commission and a member of the US National Futures Association (NFA ID: 0323361) since September 30, 2002.  Oasis is registered as an “Excluded Person” under the Securities Investment Business Law (2011 Revision) of the Cayman Islands.

Oasis Management (Hong Kong) LLC has been licensed in good standing since 2004 with the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission to carry out Types 4 (advising on securities), 5 (advising on futures contracts) and 9 (asset management) activities (CE# AJJ190) under the provisions of the Hong Kong SFO (Cap.571), and also holds a GBL1 license (License No. C109007199) from the Mauritius Financial Services Commission.

Oasis Capital Partners (Texas) Inc. is registered with the US Securities & Exchange Commission (“SEC”) as an investment advisor under the US Advisers Act (IARD/CRD # 171703).  Affiliate Oasis Capital Advisors LLC is registered as a relying advisor with the SEC.  Oasis and Oasis Hong Kong rely on the exemption from US SEC registration provided by Rule 203(m)‐1 under the US Advisers Act (the “private fund adviser exemption”), and have filed the necessary Form ADV with the US SEC to notify and record their reliance on the available exemptions – Oasis and Oasis Hong Kong are each deemed to be an “Exempt Reporting Advisor” (“ERA”) with the SEC.

Last Updated September 2017